Alaska approved the sell and use of medical marijuana in the year 2014. Today, the process of securing a marijuana dispensary business is not that much different from any regular shop. If you however don’t have the means to produce and distribute marijuana, you need to make deals with marijuana cultivators and delivery services. In this article, we will be discussing the process of how to open a dispensary in Alaska.
How much money is in the Alaskan marijuana market?
The Alaskan Marijuana market is growing each year for both recreational and medical marijuana. Medical marijuana sales in 2016 were about $4 million, and they are expected to reach $11 million in 2021. The expected sales for recreational marijuana for the same year will be about $79 million.
Requirements for dispensary ownership in Alaska
If you want to state a legal marijuana business in the state of Alaska, you will need to follow a s standard procedure. Carefully read through the regulations to ensure that you are not missing anything.
You also need to do a thorough research about where you want to start the business and investigate whether it is possible to acquire licensing in the prospective counties or cities. After that, you will need to acquire licenses to operate the dispensary to comply with the law. Last but not least. Before you start the marijuana business, you need to establish the operational infrastructure so that it can be compliant with all the regulations.
You may always want to work with cannabis cultivators and suppliers to provide you with cannabis products if you are unable to do it yourself.
Acquiring a marijuana dispensary license is the same as getting one for an ordinary retail store. Opening a dispensary in Alaska is of course legal, but whether this is possible in a certain city or county is up to that county or city of choice since the cities allows local municipalities to revoke or ban licensed marijuana dispensaries as they see fit. Regardless of where you plan to set up your dispensary, make sure that you do your research before making a move.
There you go! But you also need to look at financial requirements. The licenses can be applied online for fee. You need to know the amounts you need to pay as application fee, license for the store ad renewal of the license.